Pi3B+ lockups

Think you found a bug? Report it here.
Gavinmc42
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Gavinmc42 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:26 am

I have experienced lockups on my Pi3B+ when running Raspbian or Gentoo64.
I mostly run 4.14.42 kernels or above.
One of my two Pi3B+'s lockups up more than the other and one SD card contributes.

Has anyone noticed this in Ultibo?
I don't have any Ultibo apps big enough to stress a 3B+ enough ;)
User avatar
Ultibo
Site Admin
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 3:49 am
Location: Australia

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Ultibo » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:03 am

Gavinmc42 wrote:Has anyone noticed this in Ultibo?
I don't have any Ultibo apps big enough to stress a 3B+ enough ;)

Since receiving a 3B+ we have used it pretty well continuously for all our testing and so far have never seen anything that looks like the lockups described in the various forums. We have been using the later version firmware (that reduces the SDRAM frequency to 450MHz) since it was released and have not retested with the earlier firmware.

It would be very interesting to know if anyone has seen random lockups (not due to faulty code) when using the 3B+ with Ultibo.
Ultibo.org | Make something amazing
https://ultibo.org
Gavinmc42
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Gavinmc42 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:47 am

Thanks for the reminder, I did not change the SDRAM speed it was still on 500MHz.
Might be a good thing to be able to change in Ultibo too.

Ok, it can be done via config.txt
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... locking.md
User avatar
Ultibo
Site Admin
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 3:49 am
Location: Australia

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Ultibo » Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:08 am

Gavinmc42 wrote:Might be a good thing to be able to change in Ultibo too.

The later firmware (post April 17 2018) automatically sets the SDRAM frequency to 450MHz, otherwise it can be set in the config.txt file.

Alternatively in Ultibo you could call ClockSetRate and pass CLOCK_ID_SDRAM to set it in code like this:

Code: Select all

ClockSetRate(CLOCK_ID_SDRAM,450000000,True);

But given that the firmware does a lot of management of these values we would probably not recommend that approach normally.
Ultibo.org | Make something amazing
https://ultibo.org
Gavinmc42
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Gavinmc42 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:57 am

sdram_freq=500, lockup
sdram_freq=450, lockup
sdram_freq=400, lockup

sdram_freq=400, arm_freq=1200, no lockup ;)
Try 450,1200?

500,1400 works fine on my other Pi3B+
Not all Pi3B+ are equal.
Wonder what summer temps will do?

Wonder how to write a stress tester in Ultibo, automatic lockup detection code?
I am using Gentoo64 running the glxgears demo, very easy to see a lockup as gears stop turning.
Gavinmc42
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Gavinmc42 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:02 am

500,1200 is working, so it in this case it is looking to be arm core freq dependent.
pik33
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby pik33 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:48 am

I have RPi3B+ at 1475/590/590, active cooled by a fan. CPU temperature is about 60C

Ultibo/Retromachine GUI/player stable
Developing/compiling with Ultibo in Raspbian stable

Surfing the web in Raspbian - not 100% stable, Chromium sometimes fails with heavy web pages filled with movie clips, while trying to play these movies. Maybe the core clock is set too high causing hangups in VC4 code.
Gavinmc42
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Pi3B+ lockups

Postby Gavinmc42 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:39 am

I am using Gentoo64 with Firefox which has no problem with lots of tabs.
Now that the lockup issue on my other Pi3B+ is sorted I will test the browser hard.
The sensitive Pi3B+ is running fine at 500MHz SDRAM, 1300MHz ARM.

Will be doing OpenGL/GLES learning/coding on Gentoo64, that should push the VC4 hard too.
Have not done much LAN testing, there still maybe issues with USB/LAN?

I can now get back to porting Laz/FPC to Aarch64 ;)

Return to “Bug reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests